Today is the 15 year anniversary of the “The Malice at the Palace”. I was living in the US when this happened, and I remember it quite vividly – I don’t imagine I was watching the game live because I was no fan of basketball then, but I must have seen the “highlights” afterwards on ESPN or whatever. And I’ve definitely seen several documentaries about it since. It was crazy. But I don’t imagine that many people from the UK have even heard of it – so I definitely recommend doing an internet search and checking the video out. It is the American equivalent of when Eric Cantona kung fu-kicked that Palace fan. Shocking, but iconic.
Talking about brawls, I see that the first UK election debate occurred today. I bet that was scintillating stuff. I read a BBC article which included the insightful conclusion that left "most Labour voters thinking Jeremy Corbyn won, most Conservative voters thinking Boris Johnson won". Well done - great journalism. I do think it is an absolute disgrace that other parties were not included in the debate – why should the British public have to choose between these 2 fools.