Hottest day of the year so far today (we are one of many states under an official heat advisory). And it sucks. It's days like this when I really miss central AC. I had that both in California and Texas, but I've never had it anywhere I've lived in Washington. But perhaps that should become the norm as the weather gets more extreme and we are more likely to experience hotter summers. But I highly doubt that my landlord would consider installing central AC. I don't really even have central heating here - just a series of baseboard heaters, some of which are connected and others which are not. I popped into Costco today, and they had some really powerful fans on display that were incredibly tempting to buy. It might be time to upgrade some of my old fans that I've had a long time and which don't seem particularly effective.