Tuesday, September 9, 2025

The Paper

I just finished watching the first season of The Paper.  I so really wanted to like this show - essentially a sequel to The (American) Office in the same deadpan mockumentary style.  It has it's moments, but what it felt like were episodes from one of the last seasons of The (American) Office.  Not so funny, well past it's best, and with one incredibly annoying new character.  Whereas the later episodes of The (American) Office only reminded you that this show used to be really good, The Paper instead makes you think that this could have been really good.  And whereas The (American) Office had Nellie, The Paper has Esmeralda.  Possibly the most annoying character on telly right now - both in character arc and portrayal - and whose presence made me actively dislike the show.  If you can't tell, I truly HATED this character.  HATED!  Both The (American) Office and Parks and Recreation started slowly, so I'm prepared to give this show a second chance (particularly it it gets rid of Esmeralda).  But I cannot recommend it right now.