It's official, America is broken. I just watched an advert - AN ADVERT - for ICE. I have never seen this before. I was shocked. So shocked, I had to rewatch it and write down the words in the advert (imagine these being spoken over various militaristic and patriotic imagery):
"Attention Seattle law enforcement
You took an oath to protect & serve
To keep your family, your city safe
But in sanctuary cities you're ordered to stand down
While dangerous illegals walk free
Join ICE and help us catch the worst of the worst
Drug traffickers, gang members, predators
Join the mission to protect America
With bonuses up to $50,000 sign-on bonus & generous benefits
Apply now and fulfill your mission"
My major issue with this, it's absolute bullsh*t. ICE doesn't catch the "worst of the worst", nope it catches a whole load of innocent and decent people. And when you join an agency where you cover your face in order to hide your identity, you are clearly not fulfilling a noble mission to protect America. What an absolute farce. This is where the billion dollars of tax-payer money earmarked for ICE goes to - sign-on bonuses for a bunch of racists. Apparently the Trump administration have launched this massive recruitment campaign to hire up to 14,000 people in order to deport 1 million people a year. If that quota is going to be met, then people like me are very much at risk.